Washington State Cougars Announce 2019 Honorary Student Athletes

The Washington State Cougars, the sports program representing Washington State University and winners of 2 NCAA team national championships, have announced their 2019 honorary student athletes! This event was documented at the 37th annual Senior Recognition Luncheon, taking place at the Bohler Athletic Complex.

The Senior Excellence in Academics Award is one of the most prestigious and hard-earned achievements at WSU. To be eligible, a minimum of 90 credits must be required with at least a 3.5 GPA, be enrolled as a student at WSU for two continuous years, exceeding in a degree program, excelling in the sports program and having been a member of the WSU Athletics All-Academic Team each semester without fail. 2Twenty-nine9 students were recognized for the SEAA.

Top 4 recipients: AJ Armstrong (men’s golf), Sara Brevick (rowing), Jess Brougham (rowing), and Rachael Christman (rowing).

Other excellency awards rewarded that night include: The Cougar Pride Academic Salute, The Athletic Director Star performer award, The Steve Gleason Community Service and Leadership Award, The Rob Oviatt and David Lang Strength and Conditioning Award, The SAAC True Cougar Award, The Damien Ficek Athletic Training Award, The WSU President’s Leadership Award, The College of Arts and Sciences’ Outstanding Seniors for social sciences and biological sciences Award, The Cougar Athletics Leadership Award, The Rob Oviatt and David Lang Strength and Conditioning Award, and The Beulah M. Blankenship Outstanding Student-Athlete Award.

Two Pac-12 Conference Postgraduate Scholarships were also awarded to one female and one male student-athlete at each Pac-12 school, made possible by the Post-graduate Scholarship Program. The 2019 WSU recipients are: Ray Littles (men’s track & field) and Paige Danielson (rowing). 

According to the Pac-12 Conference: ‘’Each year, the Conference awards up to 24 scholarships of $9,000 each to student‐athletes who have excelled academically and athletically, have completed their intercollegiate athletics eligibility, and have been accepted into a program of postgraduate study.’’

To be eligible for this scholarship, a student must have a minimum GPA of 3.00, be a distinct athlete with impressive personal achievements, be known as a cooperative team player, be enrolled (or soon to be accepted) into a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, and be in a postgraduate program or in their final year of undergraduate study.

We congratulate all of the winning recipients for their impressive achievements and undeniable willpower! We cannot wait until summer 2020 to report on the new, ambitious posse.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.